News Photo
Ted Rider finish in seventh place at the Pilot Invitational to lead the Saints
Men's Golf - Mon, Apr. 14, 2014

John Brodbeck

Sports Information Director

SOUTH BEND, Ind. – The Holy Cross men's golf team wrapped up their third tournament of the spring season over the weekend as participants in the Pilot Invitational at Blackthorn Golf Club. After posting team scores of 304 and 311, the Saints concluded the Pilot Invitational with a fifth place finish in the 16-team field. Freshman Ted Rider (FR/Vicksburg, Mich.) concluded the event with a seventh place finish to lead the Saints.

A productive round one, where all five participants scored in the 70s, had the Saints sitting in fifth place out of the 16-team field. Matthew Code (SR/Belleville, Ontario, Canada) and Ted Rider led the way for the Saints with rounds of 75 while Chris Noble (JR/Niles, Mich.), Michael Fitzgerald (SR/Flossmoor, Ill.) and Cody Richardson (SO/Howe, Ind.) each added scores of 77 to bring the Saints to a round one total of 304.

Fellow Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference (CCAC) league member Saint Xavier led the field through day one with an even par team score of 288.

Despite their team scoring increasing by seven strokes at the conclusion of round two, the Saints remained in fifth place with a tournament score of 615.

Ted Rider took one stroke off his round one score of 75 to finish with a 36-hole total of 149 and a seventh place individual finish. Chris Noble closed out the even with a round of 76 and a tournament score of 153, giving him a 16th place individual finish and two Saints in the top-20.

Michael Fitzgerald and Matthew Code each concluded the event with 36-hole scores of 157 while Cody Richardson added a 158.

Saint Xavier took home first place as a team with a team score of 588 while Ryan Hilton of Ashford (Iowa) University brought home the individual medal honors with a tournament score of 144.

The Saints will return to action beginning on Monday, April 14 at the Taylor University Spring Invitational. The tournament will conclude on Tuesday, April 15.