News Photo
Henry Deery-Schmitt added six goals over the weekend as the Saints closed out the regular season
Club Lacrosse - Wed, Apr. 23, 2014

John Brodbeck

Sports Information Director

SOUTH BEND, Ind. – The Holy Cross Saints lacrosse team wrapped up its 2014 regular season on Saturday afternoon with a pair of games held at the Kroc Center in South Bend. Playing shorthanded without three starters and a key reserve, the Saints fell to the MSU Reserves in the opening game by a final of 13-9 before dropping the finale to Northwestern by a score of 14-5.

"We hung around in game one despite missing a few key guys but just couldn't get over the hump," head coach Jeff Penney stated. "You could tell the guys were a little gassed in game two, however, they continued to give it their best effort and played until the final whistle."

The Saints had a pair of big performances in game one against the MSU Reserves as both Henry Deery-Schmitt (JR/Bainbridge Island, Wash.) and Kiefer Szumlas (SR/Chicago, Ill.) notched hat tricks. Nick Hernandez (SO/Indianapolis, Ind.) also added a pair of goals while Mitch Sulfaro (FR/Monroe, Mich.) added one to round out the Saints nine goals.

DJ Fisher (SR/South Bend, Ind.) added a pair of assists in the game while Brendan Kearney (FR/Glen Ellyn, Ill.) finished with nine saves.

Deery-Schmitt continued his strong day with three more goals in game two against Northwestern. Aidan Runyan (FR/Hackensack, N.J.) and Levi Benton (FR/Middlebury, Ind.) rounded out the scoring for the Saints as they dropped game two by a final of 14-5.

Brendan Kearney finished with 10 saves in game two and dished out his first career assists. Terry Riggs (SR/South Bend, Ind.) also notched an assist in the game.

With the pair of losses, the Saints conclude the 2014 regular season with a record of 5-4.

Despite dropping both games, the strength of schedule for the Saints during the 2014 season has led to them receiving the No. 4 seed in the Division II tournament of the Great Lakes Lacrosse League playoffs. The Saints will have a first round bye and play the winner of the St. Norbert (Wis.) and UW River Falls game. All tournament games will take place in Madison, Wis.