News Photo
Photo Courtesy of MA Associates, Inc.
Hockey - Thu, Apr. 23, 2009
         (Notre Dame,IN)  Kyle Ressler (Strongsville, OH), Michael Harding (Indianapolis, IN), Blair Knafel (Noblesville, IN), Matt Wheeler (South Bend, IN), and Kevin Smith (South Bend, IN) have all committed to play hockey for Holy Cross College next fall.

                The five men signed at the Pfeil Center with family, friends, and future teammates in attendance. "Everyone brings something different to the ice," said Head Coach Phil O'Connell. "They will have an immediate impact on our team, and will complement our returning players next season."

               Goaltender Kyle Ressler made the trip from Ohio to sign with his new teammates. "I came to Holy Cross because it was an up and coming program," said Ressler. "I can see our team going places, and I hope to be a good asset for them."

               The Saints welcomed local standouts Matt Wheeler and Kevin Smith. Wheeler is a defenseman from Penn High School, and Smith is a forward from Marion High School. "I like history and hockey," said Wheeler. "I look forward to both playing my favorite sport and studying history at Holy Cross."

               Kevin Smith added, "I know a lot of guys that have gone to Holy Cross. It is an easy transition from high school, and I like the small college atmosphere."

               Blair Knafel from Noblesville High School and Michael Harding from Avon High School will also be joining the Saints next year. Knafel plans on studying business and was first introduced to Holy Cross by current forward Jamie O'Conner. "I didn't want my playing career to end, and I heard the coaches were doing good things here," said Knafel.

               Much like Knafel, Harding did not want his playing career to end. "I really like the attention that you receive in the classroom," said Harding. "There is a family atmosphere with our hockey team and with the college."

               The Saints are members of the American Collegiate Hockey Association (ACHA) Division III, and play in the Midwestern Collegiate Hockey Conference (MWCHC).