News Photo
Aileen Clouse making one of her 15 saves on the day
Women's Soccer - Sat, Oct. 26, 2013

John Brodbeck

Sports Information Director

NOTRE DAME, Ind. -- The Saints played the second place Trolls of Trinity Christian College tough on Saturday afternoon at Ganger Field in their eighth Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference (CCAC) match of the season. Holy Cross trailed 1-0 for the majority of the game until Trinity Christian added two goals in the final five minutes en route to a 3-0 victory over the Saints. With the loss, the Saints fall to 3-11 overall and 0-8 in the Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference.

Although the stats will show a major offensive discrepancy in favor of the Trolls, the Saints played an all-around tough game.

Cassidy Bosselaar scored the first goal of the game after Rachael Webb slipped a pass into the box to give the Trolls a 1-0 lead in the 16th minute. Following the goal, the Saints did a very good job of making things difficult for Trinity Christian.

Senior goalkeeper Aileen Clouse (Beavercreek, Ohio) kept the Saints in the game. She finished the first half with 10 saves.

In the second half, Haleigh Vander Vinne (Chesterton, Ind.) gave the Saints their best chance of the day when she hit a shot from 20-yards out that just sailed over the bar.

The Trolls continued to get chances in the second half, finishing with 19 shots.

The score stayed locked at 1-0 for 85 minutes before Rachael Webb netted two goals (86', 89') to extend the Trolls lead to 3-0.

Holy Cross finished the second half with just one shot, giving them a game total of 3, as Trinity Christian defeated the Saints 3-0.

Aileen Clouse finished the game in goal with 15 saves.

The Saints will hit the road on Tuesday, October 29 with a 4:00 p.m. meeting against 13th ranked Judson.

They will return home on Saturday, November 2 with a noon start against Purdue Calumet for senior day where Lindsey Swaim (Elkhart, Ind.), Kayla Vanlue (Plymouth, Ind.), Aileen Clouse (Beavercreek, Ohio), Taylor Paoulos (Buffalo Grove, Ill.) and Sonia Bonilla (Chicago, Ill.) will be honored.